The New Jersey Big Data Alliance (NJBDA) was established in 2013 by Rutgers University, along with 8 higher education partners, to catalyze collaboration among New Jersey academia, industry and government in building advanced computing and data analytics  capabilities and expertise. Today, the NJBDA is a consortium of 16 higher education institutions and NJEdge, as well as industry and government members, that builds and leverages collaborations to increase competitiveness, generate a highly skilled workforce, drive innovation and catalyze data-driven economic growth for New Jersey.

This unprecedented alliance was recognized in 2014 by  the New Jersey State Legislature as “New Jersey’s Advanced Cyberinfrastructure Consortium.” This legislation formalized the partnership among the State’s higher education institutions in building the computational and analytics capabilities and expertise in New Jersey.

Executive Committee

Executive Board

President Peggy Brennan-Tonetta  – Executive Director, Economic Development and Innovation and Associate Director, New Jersey Agricultural Experiment Station, Rutgers University
Secretary Edward Chapel  – Senior Vice President and Chief Operating Officer, Edge
Treasurer Manfred Minimair  – Associate Professor, Department of Mathematics and Computer Science;  Program Director, B.S. Program in Computer Science and Certificate Program in Data Visualization and Analysis, Seton Hall University

Committee Vice-Presidents

Academic Membership Adam Scarzafava – Associate Vice President, Marketing and Communications, Edge
Affiliate Membership Jessica PaoliniAssistant Director, Economic Development and Innovation, NJ Agricultural Experiment Station, Rutgers University
Education & Training ​Rashmi Jain – Department Chair and Professor of Information and Operations Management, Feliciano School of Business, Montclair State University
Entrepreneurship David Belanger, Senior Research Fellow, Stevens Institute
Research Collaborations J.D. Jayaraman – Associate Professor, Department of Finance, New Jersey City University
Government Relations Matthew Hale – Associate Professor and MPA Program Chair, Department of Political Science and Public Affairs, Seton Hall University
Advanced Computing Tech Demetrios Roubos – Associate Director, Information Security, Stockton University
Marketing and Outreach Jane Cheng – Faculty, Data Science Institute, St. Peters University

Contact Information for State Partners – OIT, CCIC, EDA, DOL